Home › Comparisons

Comparison · Comparisons

Oral-B vs Sonicare: The Pro 1000 and ProtectiveClean 4100 Side by Side

By Hygiene Haul Editorial Team · Published · 5 min read

How we make money: this page contains Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through them, Hygiene Haul may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick. Full disclosure.

Oral-B Pro 1000 electric toothbrush in black, from the listing's main image

Our picks at a glance

  1. 1Pick for a Rotating Round HeadOral-B Pro 1000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush4.5165,519 ratingsSee it on Amazon
  2. 2Pick for a Sonic BrushPhilips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush4.655,509 ratingsSee it on Amazon

The Oral-B Pro 1000, with more than 165,000 ratings, and the Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100, with more than 55,000, are the most-rated Oral-B and Sonicare listings we found on Amazon. Oral-B describes a round head that oscillates, rotates and pulsates; Philips describes a sonic brush. Oral-B lists a quadrant timer that alerts you every 30 seconds, Philips a 2-minute timer with QuadPacer, and both list a pressure sensor.

How we picked

We chose the most-rated Oral-B and Sonicare listings that cleared our floor of 4.3 stars across 200 ratings and had a main buy button when we checked, then saved each one's title, bullets, specification fields, seller and return terms. Neither model is a pick anywhere else on the site.

For more choices, see the best electric toothbrushes, which includes another Sonicare and an Oral-B iO, and the best water flossers.

1
Pick for a Rotating Round Head

Oral-B Pro 1000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush

Oral-B Pro 1000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
4.5165,519 ratings

Rated 4.5 out of 5 from 165,519 ratings on Amazon when we checked on Oct 26, 2026.

Oral-B's description says the Pro 1000 uses 3D cleaning action that oscillates, rotates and pulsates, with a CrossAction head whose bristles are angled at 16 degrees. It lists 3 modes including a sensitive mode, a pressure control that stops the pulsations if you brush too hard, a quadrant timer that alerts you every 30 seconds and an LED charge indicator; it gives no battery-life figure. Its plaque claim differs within the listing: up to 100% more plaque in a bullet and 300% more in the description, both against a manual toothbrush.

What the listing says

  • Oscillates, rotates and pulsates (per Oral-B)
  • 3 modes, including sensitive
  • Pressure control stops the pulsations
  • Quadrant timer every 30 seconds
  • No battery-life figure given

Shipped and sold by Amazon.com, with free 30-day returns, per the listing.

See it on Amazon

2
Pick for a Sonic Brush

Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush

Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
4.655,509 ratings

Rated 4.6 out of 5 from 55,509 ratings on Amazon when we checked on Oct 26, 2026.

Philips describes a sonic brush at up to 62,000 brush movements per minute. The 4100 lists a pressure sensor that gently pulses to warn you, a brush head replacement reminder, a 2-minute timer with QuadPacer, and a 14-day battery with an indicator light. Philips says it removes up to 7x more plaque than a manual toothbrush. The listing does not say how many cleaning modes it has.

What the listing says

  • Sonic, up to 62,000 movements a minute (per Philips)
  • Pressure sensor that pulses
  • Brush head replacement reminder
  • 2-minute timer with QuadPacer
  • 14-day battery with indicator light (per Philips)

Sold by CASTLE and shipped by Amazon, with free 30-day returns, per the listing.

See it on Amazon

Side by side

Oral-B Pro 1000 Rechargeable Electric ToothbrushPhilips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
Motion (as listed)Oscillates, rotates, pulsatesSonic, up to 62,000 movements a minute
Modes3Not stated
Pressure sensingStops the pulsationsPulses to alert you
TimerQuadrant timer, every 30 seconds2-minute timer with QuadPacer
Battery (as listed)LED charge indicator; no figure14 days; indicator light
Plaque claim (vs manual)Up to 100% (bullet) or 300% (description)Up to 7x
Ratings4.5 from 165,5194.6 from 55,509
SellerAmazon.comCASTLE, shipped by Amazon

What to look for

01

Head and motion

Oral-B describes a round head that oscillates and rotates; Philips describes a sonic brush. We do not rank one motion over the other.

02

Battery

Only the Sonicare gives a figure, 14 days. The Oral-B listing says long-lasting and has a charge indicator.

03

Modes

The Oral-B lists 3 modes, including sensitive. The Sonicare 4100 listing does not state a number.

04

Plaque claims

Each brand states its own figure against a manual toothbrush, and Oral-B's listing gives two different figures. These are not a head-to-head result.

The bottom line

Pick for a Rotating Round Head

The Oral-B Pro 1000, with 3 modes and pressure control.

See it
Pick for a Sonic Brush

The Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4100, with a stated 14-day battery and a head replacement reminder.

See it

Frequently asked questions

What is the main difference between Oral-B and Sonicare?

On these two listings, the motion. Oral-B describes a round head that oscillates, rotates and pulsates; Philips describes a sonic brush at up to 62,000 movements a minute.

Which one cleans better?

Neither listing compares the two. Each brand gives a plaque figure against a manual toothbrush (Oral-B up to 100% or 300% more, Philips up to 7x more), and those figures cannot be turned into a ranking.

Which has the longer battery life?

Only the Sonicare 4100 gives a figure: 14 days. The Oral-B Pro 1000 listing calls its battery long-lasting without a number.

Do both have a pressure sensor?

Yes. Oral-B says the Pro 1000 stops the pulsations when you brush too hard; Philips says the 4100 gently pulses to alert you.

Why are the ratings different from what I see on Amazon?

Ratings change over time. The figures here are what each listing showed on the date at the top of this page.

Ratings and listing details were checked on Amazon on the date shown at the top of this page. We have not used these; everything above is from their Amazon listings.